top of page

Gold - Log #6

Level Tweaks

Elements of the level needed to be edited, the PAX and Armageddon showcase feedback really highlighted key issues that the level’s had. One key aspect was the path to the bell tower puzzle, this was the most notable changed that was made, there was also some repositioning of various buttons, the room in which Safa first gets the hammer needed to be modified in order to better convey the abilities of the hammer as well.

New Collectible UI

The pieces you collect now unlock a proper cracked tablet image. Collecting all of them will let you read the whole story!

Blinking

Safa and the Hammer have had an added layer of game juice, as both of them now blink!

The Artists

Aidan

One of the main concerns with the Armageddon/PAX build were the animations, therefore I had another attempt at getting the animations from Motionbuilder into Maya, and then Unity. This week it was finally a success, therefore a handful of motion capture animations were cleaned up, set to the world origin and updated the current ingame ones. This task took most of the week as there were some issues with some of the captures losing reference of a hand or leg, limiting the animations that could be used.

Connor

I spent this week finalising the climbing puzzle. I recreated the mesh to fit the player character’s abilities and set up the UVs separately for each piece. Then I sculpted each piece of the tower individually and baked out each normal map separately to avoid any need to clean up the maps.

David

This week I was helping out to polish the level as well as working on other assignments.

The Programmers

Hadley

Returning from PAX, everyone required sometime to collect themselves. An exhausting event showcasing, mingling and networking. This was really a polishing week for us again, with an even bigger list of bugs, and issues to fix I created a proper bug/fix list for Jose and I to churn through. This took a bulk of our week up, as there was a lot to work through, from mechanical interactions to general gameplay elements that needed to be refactored. Areas of the world needed to be reworked as well, which I took up, creating a new platforming area for navigating to the bell puzzle.

Jose

Safa should have blinked at PAX and I forgot, I’m really sorry about that.

I added a new UI for the collectibles menu, since the floating text wasn’t too nice. I hope it’ll make collecting each piece more rewarding!

I started implementing a lot of small quality of life visual changes. Safa doesn’t randomly turn around when she climbs a ledge anymore. And her hammer and pole go on her back when she is climbing or pushing things now!

I also added a new climbing area leading to the bell puzzle, and a climbing area right at the start of the tutorial to make sure players know how to use the mechanic. I also reworked the area where the Hammer is completed to make sure players know how the pressure plates work.

Izzy

Getting back from PAX, I had a moment of downtime but remained on track in the weekend, so I finally fixed up the bird animations needed that was required and also with Jose and Hadley implementing the blink script for Safa. From this week on I am free from creating tasks. The next two weeks are dedicated for post-production which is mainly documentation and polishing up the game to ready it up for submission.

bottom of page